Let the adventure begin.

Can you imagine quitting your job, saying goodbyes to your family and friends and going to explore another country?   I certainly couldn’t, but now here I am in that very position with plane tickets to depart my native Colorado and head out to explore more of New Zealand.  This kind of thing is what I read about other people doing. I find it astonishing that it is me who gets to write this story.  I am grateful for the opportunity to share it with you.  Welcome to my blog!  Follow me as I attempt to write my story as it unfolds while my husband and I experience a New Zealand adventure or  a new zeal for life and the adventure along the way.

Here are a few reasons why we want to spend more time there.

Blenheim to Picton NZ

Kaikoura NZ

Kaikoura2 NZ

leaving Nelson Lakes NZ

Brancott winery NZ

To our family and friends who are reading, thank you for your support and encouragement.  We miss you already.  Both of us are excited and nervous about what the adventure will reveal but we know this is a once in a lifetime experience and we are grateful beyond words to have the opportunity.

Welcome to my maiden voyage in the blogging world.  While I hope you will find this entertaining, I’m not committed to that as my sole purpose for writing.  I intend this blog to be informative and somewhat comprehensive of our adventure, so there will likely be posts that are not necessarily uplifting, you may even find them downright boring. I guess you can consider that my disclaimer for any discomfort you may experience while reading my blog.  I am relieving myself of the responsibility of assuring your enjoyment and entertainment gained from reading and examining pictures.  Rest assured I am not going to use this as an excuse to write a dry and boring blog, it’s way to public for that so enjoy at your own risk and feel free to let me know how you feel.  Glad you’ve visited, I hope you all can help me learn as I go.

When I find myself in a place I’ve never been–usually that’s every morning when I wake up as each new day is a  moment in life that has not yet been experienced, I typically want to go exploring, so that’s what I intend to do and then share it with you.  There will likely be some exciting discoveries, some fun and some scary moments and  maybe even some ugly and smelly ones but hopefully we will discover more about ourselves and this life.   The wind will blow, the sun and the stars will shine and we will be reminded that despite the miles that are between us we are not far removed from those we love.  We’re all in this together, all branches of the same tree.

“We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” – T.S.Eliot

We will be flying into Queenstown, NZ, nestled in a majestic setting of snowcapped peaks. I’ll share pictures of our arrival once we are there. For now you can check out this amazing view that was shared with us. Even though we won’t get to have this dramatic of a perspective it highlights the beauty of the city. http://www.chonday.com/Videos/pilotnewzdalnd1

Until next time, when I’ll be posting in winter–weird that going from summer to winter is going to happen overnight, you enjoy the sunshine and keep smiling.

14 responses to “Let the adventure begin.

  1. Stephanie Whitton

    Deb – so excited for you and your husband’s adventure. What an exciting time for you! Enjoy every minute!
    Steph

    Like

  2. It’s already been an adventure I suspect. Thinking of you daily and always wondering how you are and how it is going. Love you!

    Like

  3. Happy travels!!! I’m so very excited for you and Paul! Breathe in that beauty and know it reflects your own. Much love to you both!

    Like

  4. Hi Paul and Deb, I am so excited to take this trip with you… I look forward to future explorations in your daily walk. Have a wonderful time with each other and cherish each moment of love and adventure. Marty ❤

    Like

  5. Super excited and happy for you to be able to take this amazing life changing adventure! Best wishes and can’t wait to read more. As they say “Let your story begin” 🙂
    Hugs,
    Dawn

    Like

  6. Bob and Betty Johnson

    Paul and Deb, Thank you so much for sharing your adventure with us in such a neat way, and for the video. I don’t know what the radar screen was showing while descending through the clouds, but I was getting pretty nervous with all those mountains around. What an experience! That runway was really coming at the plane in a hurry from that perspective. Have fun. Bob J.

    Like

  7. What a wonderful opportunity! Thanks for sharing your experience. Enjoy! Hugs to you both!

    Like

  8. So fun to experience your adventure with you

    Like

Leave a Reply

